ACL here we come!

OK. It's been a long time since I've logged in here. Since I have no followers it probably don't make no never mind.

Anyway - news on my front - I'm off food and drink after midnight tonight and reporting for surgery for a new ACL tomorrow. Good times.

On my sisters birthday (5/6) I was out skiing with some ladies from work. We had been trying to get the group together for years and finally managed find a day to dig in and just go. I was all nervous about not being good enough to keep up with them, being out skied, etc. When we took our first run I realized THAT was a non starting fear but decided to really go for it just the same.

Run three that day we were taking an easy cruiser on the greenest of greens; something I've skied a million and one times. Heck - I'd skied it a million and one times before I was 10. Anyway, I got into showboat mode doing tight slalom turns playing with knee angulation and body angulation - going for the Lindsay Vonn - when uh-oh. Lost my balance. I should have just taken the fall, dusted myself off and swallowed a little crow. But no...I had to try and save it. Two turns later I was on my back thinking, shit. I hurt my knee.

A trip down in the toboggan, some cardboard for a splint, a stop at the Nachez Tavern for lunch and a few beers before visiting a GP - life was spiraling in a bad direction. The first doctor said I was fine, gave me a splint and the number for Physical Therapy and sent me on my way. Used and X-ray to say I hadn't hurt my ligament.

Sigh. The knee never got better. Friends and family encouraged me to see a specialist and a week and a half later I did. One MRI later it was official - no more ACL. Surgical table here I come!

So. Now with the choices of surgery or never run/play sports again past me I must admit I'm a bit baffled. People keep telling me that recovery from this is 'a bear'. What? Like this is elective re-constructive surgery? It's not like I'm getting a boob job. If I don't do this, I'm out! No tennis. No skiing. No squash. Hell - no running after my 2 year old daughter. Hmm...fat farm or a rough recovery? No question.

So I'm in. 8:30 tomorrow morning is show time!

Hoping to add more thoughts on the brutality of it all....for those of you who aren't reading.

Stiff upper lip!

Comments

Popular Posts